Wednesday, 16 December 2020 12:41

UNCP receives national recognition for achievements in student success

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

PEMBROKE — Education company Education Advisory Board has named UNC Pembroke as the winner of its 2020 Student Success Collaborative’s Return on Education Award. 

EAB’s Return on Education Award recognizes an institution that has seen significant and measurable results from its efforts to help students persist, graduate and thrive. 

Interim Provost Zoe Locklear, Associate Provost Scott Billingsley and Derek Oxendine, director of Bachelor of Interdisciplinary Studies recently attended the virtual announcement during EAB’s annual CONNECTED20 conference.

This is the seventh year in a row that EAB has recognized outstanding achievements in student success. Awardees are chosen from among the colleges, universities  and individuals who use Navigate, EAB’s student success management system. 

“The COVID-19 pandemic forced institutions to rely on technology like never before to support students on their educational journey,” said Scott Schirmeier, president of EAB Technology. 

“This year’s awardees, like their predecessors, are true leaders in using technology to help advisors, faculty, administrators and students work collaboratively to keep more students on track to graduate. The winners exemplify what schools can achieve with a campuswide approach to student success, strong leadership and an unrelenting commitment to helping more students reach their potential.”

“We’re honored to receive the 2020 Return on Education Award from EAB,” said UNCP Interim Provost Zoe Locklear. “We’ve been recognized for our efforts to help more students persist, graduate and thrive. Through the efforts of Dr. Derek Oxendine, Dr. Beth Holder and the advising team in the Center for Student Success, we are very committed to the academic success of our students.”

The following institutions and one individual also were named winners of the 2020 Student Success Collaborative Awards from EAB: 

  • Return on Education Award: Perimeter College at Georgia State University 
  • Visionary Leadership Award: Stacey Moore, York Technical College
  • Collaborative Citizenship Award: National Louis University
  • Technology Pioneer Award: Marshall University
  • Technology Pioneer Award: Washburn University

The awards were presented at CONNECTED20, a three-day gathering, virtual this year, of leaders from the country’s most progressive community colleges as well as four-year colleges and universities.