Wednesday, 05 January 2022 16:32

McInnis appointed to joint legislative committees

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

RALEIGH — Sen. Tom McInnis has been appointed co-chair of one committee and named to several others in the General Assembly.

President Pro Tem Sen. Phil Berger, R-Rockingham announced the interim appointments for the 2021-22 session in a press release Wednesday afternoon.

"As we prepare for the short session, senators are turning their attention to interim committee work and studying issues that are facing our state," Berger said. "I appreciate their commitment to the people of North Carolina and ensuring our state continues to prosper."

McInnis, R-Moore, will co-chair the Joint Legislative Transportation Oversight Committee with Sen. Vickie Sawyer, R-Iredell. Sawyer and McInnis are co-chairs of the Senate Transportation Committee, along with Sen. Danny Earl Britt Jr., R-Robeson.

McInnis was also appointed to serve on the following committees:

  • Joint Legislative Education Oversight Committee
  • Joint Legislative Oversight Committee on Local Government
  • Joint Legislative Oversight Committee on the N.C. State Lottery
  • Joint Legislative Commission on Governmental Operations.
  • McInnis, a Richmond County native, was first elected to the state senate in 2014 and began serving the following January.

He currently represents District 25, which comprises Richmond, Moore, Scotland and Anson counties. 

However, earlier this year, McInnis switched his residency to Moore County when new district maps were released and has filed to run in the new District 21, which comprises Moore County and most of Cumberland County.

Richmond is included in the new District 29, which takes away Moore and Scotland counties and adds Montgomery, the western half of Randolph and southeastern Union.

The N.C. Supreme Court in December halted filing for all elections across the state, including for local offices, due to challenges regarding district maps that were redrawn earlier this year.